Is people telling you that they understand, when really they don't. Sure, they'll smile kindly and lead you into that stable of security... then they'll burn that shit to the ground the MOMENT your mental illness becomes inconvenient for them.
Oh how I WISH I could just switch it on and off whenever the fuck I wanted. And be sure to turn that shit right up JUST as I'm about to embarrass you in front of all those god forsaken, 'apparently normal' people stuffing their faces with whatever the fuck they want!
What can these people do, cos at the end of the day, these people are SUPPOSED to be supportive?
Tell the goddamn truth! It's not fucking hard. Be fucking honest and SAY to my face that you don't understand. I'd rather you just said, "That sounds awful, I honestly can't comprehend what you're going through. What can I do/not do to help?"
But no one ever does that, and the one thing I'd like to know is: Why is everyone so fucking scared of being seen as ignorant? And yet being a goddamn liar is perfectly acceptable?
I don't EXPECT you to understand what I'm going through, ok! Because:
A. You're not me
B. You ain't that therapist with the degree.
And C. On the face of it, I LOOK fine. If my arm fell off, you'd be like, "She obviously needs some help." But my arm hasn't fallen off. You can't see the problem, so unless I'm talking about it, you think it's somehow magicked itself away. No. It hasn't. It's still fucking there. I live with this hell EVERY fucking second of EVERY goddamn day.
I don't want a fucking hero. I just want some goddamn patience and some fucking compassion and for people to realise that just because I have a problem with food, does not give them leave to treat me like a child who won't eat their greens.
No comments:
Post a Comment